Jeff Barrett, Ph.D., FCP

Dr. Jeff Barrett is senior vice president at the Critical Path Institute (C-Path) and serves as the executive director of the Rare Disease Cures Accelerator, Data Analytics Platform. As a critical liaison between C-Path and the pharmaceutical industry, foundations and other key stakeholders, Dr. Barrett helps grow C-Path’s drug development portfolio, with a focus on model-informed drug development (MIDD) and real-world data (RWD) technologies.

Jeff was previously head of Quantitative Sciences at the Bill & Melinda Gates Medical Research Institute. In this role, he was responsible for implementing model-based drug development, employing PK/PD modeling, statistics and clinical trial simulations to advance the discovery and development of new medicines and vaccines. Prior to MRI, he was vice president of Translational Informatics at Sanofi Pharmaceuticals. There, he led various aspects of model-based decision-making spanning and provided leadership for Sanofi’s cloud-based, high-performance computing and “big data” initiatives. Jeff spent more than 10 years at the University of Pennsylvania, where he was professor of pediatrics and director of laboratory for Applied PK/PD at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia.

Jeff received his B.S. in chemical engineering from Drexel University and his Ph.D. in pharmacokinetics from the University of Michigan. He has co-authored over 180 manuscripts, is a fellow of ACCP and AAPS and is the recipient of numerous honors, including ACCP awards for Young Investigator (2002), Mentorship in Clinical Pharmacology (2007) and the AAPS Award in Clinical Pharmacology and Translational Research (2011). Dr. Barrett was awarded for Exceptional Innovation and Advancing the Discipline of Pharmacometrics by the International Society for Pharmacometrics (2013) and elected ISOP Fellow (2017).

He is co-speciality chief editor of Frontiers in Obstetric and Pediatric Pharmacology and an active member of the Child Health and Human Development Pediatrics Subcommittee as a study section reviewer. He was a past acting chair of the FDA Advisory Committee for Pharmaceutical Science and Clinical Pharmacology and a voting member of the committee for eight years.

Back to Board of Directors